Your Community Foundation

Strengthening our ability to service the Greater Philadelphia community’s present and future needs.

Our second century

The Board of Managers invested much of 2016 in envisioning and creating a strategy grounded in community – what it needs and wants for today and tomorrow and what resources can be brought to bear to make it stronger.

TPF’s leadership and staff are energized and pledge to do all we can to realize our vision because we love Greater Philadelphia and want everyone and every place here to thrive.

Thank you to our 2016 Board of Managers

Anthony J. Conti, Chair; Kathleen S. Allison, Vice Chair; William C. Bullitt, Treasurer

Members: N. Nina Ahmad; Lawrence J. Beaser, Chair Emeritus; Kerry R. Benson; Steven Scott Bradley; Roseline Marston; Francis J. Mirabello; Anne Morrissey; John Nihill; R. Duane Perry; Mindy M. Posoff; Betsy Leebron Tutelman

Thank you to our 2016 Board Committee volunteers

Stacy Maria Dutton, David Gruber, Barbara Hauptfuhrer, Farah Jimenez, William B. McLaughlin, Handsel B. Minyard, Asuka Nakahara, Sangeeta Prasad, Emily Riley, Stanley A. Simpkins, Don Jose Stovall



From signing the lease for a new home, to a planned succession in board leadership, to hiring new staff to carry out our goals, 2016 was a year of growth through transitions for The Philadelphia Foundation.

Plans began for a new home for TPF offices, as a lease was signed for 1835 Market Street. Goals included an efficient layout where convening and community spaces could be larger, more flexible and well supported by technology. The location was selected to bring greater visibility to TPF and its work.

Anthony J. Conti became chair of The Philadelphia Foundation’s Board of Managers on July 1, completing a transition plan announced in 2015.

Lawrence J. Beaser, a board member for 20 years and chair for 7.5 years, now serves as Chair Emeritus. He was honored by the Philadelphia Bar Foundation with The Hon. Louis H. Pollak Champion of the Public Interest Award for his years of service to the community, including his role on our board.

Nell Booth joined the TPF team as Chief of Staff.

Lois Gabin-Legato joined us as Vice President of Institutional Advancement and Chief Advancement Officer.

Broadening community awareness of TPF

In keeping with our commitment to heighten awareness of TPF’s impact on the region, staff members made dozens of community presentations at which they explained our scholarship and grantmaking process, discussed our platform for philanthropy with the public and with wealth managers, and collaborated with a wide range of community organizations.

These included appearances by President and CEO Pedro A. Ramos at the Greater Philadelphia Hispanic Chamber, the American Jewish Committee Philanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania Bar Institute, private funder gatherings and the Free Library of Philadelphia’s American Presidency series.

The Philadelphia Foundation was honored by Pathways PA with its Partnership in Excellence Award for years of collaboration and commitment to improving the Philadelphia community.